A Layer of Ash Now Available! Plus Get Books 1-3 FREE!

A Layer of Ash, book 6 in The Citadel of the Last Gathering, is available now for Kindle (paperback copies should be available soon). To celebrate, we're making the first three novels free for the weekend:

A Count of Five
A Tide of Ice
A Unique Sickness of Spirit

I hope you'll check it out!

Two New Supplemental Stories

To celebrate the release of A Layer of Ash, I'm posting two new supplemental short stories. These are in continuity with The Citadel of the Last Gathering and build out the setting, but neither directly concerns characters appearing in the main novels. To put it another way, skipping them won't detract from the experience of reading the books, but I'd like to hope reading them fleshes out the world a bit.

The Guest offers a look at the politics of Hathari as it would have been. The first novel, A Count of Five, contains background you'll need to understand what's going on. I recommended reading at least that far before looking at The Guest.

The Fall is set later in the timeline, between books five and six. It's intended to offer a little closure on the world of A Sea of Sky, so I'd suggest reading that before the short story.

These join The Truthspeaker and A Meeting in the Desert under the Short Fiction tab.

A Layer of Ash: Available October 26

A Layer of Ash, the sixth novel in The Citadel of the Last Gathering, will be available for the Kindle on October 26 and available in paperback around the same time. You can find the pre-order page for the Kindle version here if you want to ensure it's delivered to your device the minute it's available.

Between its darker tone and autumn setting, A Layer of Ash would make a good Halloween read. If you're caught up on the first five novels, you'll be rewarded checking this out sooner rather than later. And if you're not caught up, you've got just enough time between now and the 26th!

While releasing two novels in one year has certainly been tiring, we're going to try and do it again in 2019. The last three books in the series have already been written, and we're planning to have book 7 revised and released in spring or summer, then book 8 in fall or early winter. The ninth and final installment should be ready sometime in early-to-mid 2020.

I couldn't be happier with how this series is coming along. A Layer of Ash, in particular, is one I'm extremely proud of, and I hope you'll give it a chance.